New Music: The Internet, Kehlani, and More

New music!!! What’s better than new music you instantly love?… (Ok. Maybe that. You’re right.) The last time I was this excited about new music was late last year when Tinashe dropped “Aquarius“, which I still listen to when I feel emotionally numb and need those vibrations. But now I’ve discovered new artists to vibe to.

A few months ago, I was watching random Hot 97 interviews and stumbled across one with a beautiful girl named Kehlani. I loved her story and decided to download her mixtapes, “Cloud 19” and “You Should Be Here“. I fell in love with her music instantly. I loved “Cloud 19” so much that I ordered the t-shirt from her website a size too big because I NEEDED it that badly. Her raspy tone and soothing melodies over beats you can still bump in your hood is exactly why she’s one of my favorite R&B artists out right now. I’m extremely excited to meet her and go to her concert at the House of Blues in New Orleans on July 18th. I’ve been playing Kehlani’s “You Should Be Here” on repeat until yesterday.

While looking through Spotify’s “New Releases” tab yesterday, I saw The Internet’s “Ego Death”. I first heard about The Internet via people and magazines tweeting about them and recognized the lead singer, Syd tha Kyd (an original member of Odd Future), from a YouTube video The Peculiar Kind posted a few years ago, but I had never heard any of their music. The first song that played when I selected their album on Spotify was “Girl” and I knew then that I had been missing out on some great, soulful, R&B music that I can vibe to. The bass lines, tones, melody, lyrics, heavy jazz influence… YES! I spent all day listening to nothing but their music. I HAD to buy “Ego Death” on iTunes, which features Janelle Monáe (one of my favorites). This is their third project; the others include “Feel Good” and “Purple Naked Ladies“. I’m officially a proud new fan and can’t wait to play “Ego Death” until I learn all the lyrics; it’s a must buy for sure!

Who are some new artists you’ve come across lately? Comment below or hit me up on Facebook or Twitter.

P.S. If you haven’t seen Big Sean‘s video for his song “Play No Games”, it’s themed after the best show in television history, “Martin”. Watch below.

Leave a Reply

